开发 TV 输入服务

TV 输入服务代表媒体流来源,让您以线性广播电视的方式将媒体内容呈现为频道和节目。通过 TV 输入服务,您可以提供家长控制、收视指南信息和内容分级。TV 输入服务采用 Android 系统 TV 应用。此应用最终在 TV 上控制并呈现频道内容。系统 TV 应用是专门针对设备开发的,第三方应用无法更改。如需详细了解 TV 输入框架 (TIF) 架构及其组件,请参阅 TV 输入框架

使用 TIF 随播内容库创建 TV 输入服务

TIF 随播内容库框架提供常见 TV 输入服务功能的可扩展实现。使用 TIF 随播内容库,您可以快速轻松地创建自己的遵循 Android TV 最佳做法的 TV 输入服务。

更新项目

要开始使用 TIF 随播内容库,请将以下内容添加到应用的 build.gradle 文件中:

    compile 'com.google.android.libraries.tv:companionlibrary:0.2'
    

TIF 随播内容库目前不是 Android 框架的一部分。它作为一个 Gradle 依赖项通过 jcenter 而不是 Android SDK 进行分发。检查 jcenter 以查找最新版本的 TIF 随播内容库

在清单中声明 TV 输入服务

您的应用必须提供与 TvInputService 兼容的服务,供系统用来访问应用。TIF 随播内容库提供 BaseTvInputService 类,该类可默认实现您可以自定义的 TvInputService。创建 BaseTvInputService 的子类,并在清单中将该子类声明为服务。

在清单声明内,指定 BIND_TV_INPUT 权限以允许该服务将 TV 输入连接到系统。系统服务执行绑定并具有 BIND_TV_INPUT 权限。系统 TV 应用通过 TvInputManager 接口向 TV 输入服务发送请求。

在服务声明中,请包含一个 intent 过滤器,将 TvInputService 指定为通过该 intent 执行的操作。另外,请将服务元数据声明为单独的 XML 资源。以下示例中演示了服务声明、intent 过滤器和服务元数据声明:

    <service android:name=".rich.RichTvInputService"
        android:label="@string/rich_input_label"
        android:permission="android.permission.BIND_TV_INPUT">
        <!-- Required filter used by the system to launch our account service. -->
        <intent-filter>
            <action android:name="android.media.tv.TvInputService" />
        </intent-filter>
        <!-- An XML file which describes this input. This provides pointers to
        the RichTvInputSetupActivity to the system/TV app. -->
        <meta-data
            android:name="android.media.tv.input"
            android:resource="@xml/richtvinputservice" />
    </service>
    

在单独的 XML 文件中定义服务元数据。服务元数据 XML 文件必须包含描述 TV 输入的初始配置和频道扫描的设置界面。元数据文件还应包含一个说明用户是否能够录制内容的标记。要详细了解如何在应用中支持录制内容,请参阅电视录制

服务元数据文件位于您的应用的 XML 资源目录中,并且必须与您在清单中声明的资源名称相匹配。通过使用上例中的清单条目,您可以在 res/xml/richtvinputservice.xml 创建含有以下内容的 XML 文件:

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <tv-input xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android"
      android:canRecord="true"
      android:setupActivity="com.example.android.sampletvinput.rich.RichTvInputSetupActivity" />
    

定义频道并创建设置 Activity

您的 TV 输入服务必须至少定义一个频道,供用户通过系统 TV 应用来访问。您应该在系统数据库中注册您的频道,并提供一个设置 Activity,供系统在无法为您的应用找到频道时调用。

首先,启用您的应用以读写系统电子收视指南 (EPG),其数据包含可供用户观看的频道和节目。要启用您的应用以执行这些操作,并在设备重启后与 EPG 同步,请将以下元素添加到您的应用清单:

    <uses-permission android:name="com.android.providers.tv.permission.WRITE_EPG_DATA" />
    <uses-permission android:name="android.permission.RECEIVE_BOOT_COMPLETED "/>
    

添加以下元素以确保您的应用在 Google Play 商店显示为在 Android TV 中提供内容频道的应用:

    <uses-feature
        android:name="android.software.live_tv"
        android:required="true" />
    

接下来,创建一个扩展 EpgSyncJobService 类的类。通过此抽象类,可以轻松创建在系统数据库中创建并更新频道的作业服务。

在您的子类中,创建并返回 getChannels() 中的完整频道列表。如果您的频道来自 XMLTV 文件,则使用 XmlTvParser 类。否则,使用 Channel.Builder 类以编程方式生成频道。

对于每个频道,当系统需要在给定时间段内可在相应频道上观看的节目列表时,它会调用 getProgramsForChannel()。针对该频道返回 Program 对象列表。使用 XmlTvParser 类从 XMLTV 文件获取节目,或使用 Program.Builder 类以编程方式生成节目。

对于每个 Program 对象,使用 InternalProviderData 对象设置节目信息,如节目的视频类型。如果您只希望相应频道循环重复播放有限数量的节目,请在设置节目信息时,使用值为 trueInternalProviderData.setRepeatable() 方法。

实现该作业服务后,将其添加到您的应用清单中:

    <service
        android:name=".sync.SampleJobService"
        android:permission="android.permission.BIND_JOB_SERVICE"
        android:exported="true" />
    

最后,创建设置 Activity。您的设置 Activity 应该提供一种同步频道和节目数据的方式。其中一种方式是让用户通过界面在 Activity 中操作。也可在 Activity 启动时,让应用自动操作。当设置 Activity 需要同步频道和节目信息时,应用应启动此作业服务:

Kotlin

    val inputId = getActivity().intent.getStringExtra(TvInputInfo.EXTRA_INPUT_ID)
    EpgSyncJobService.cancelAllSyncRequests(getActivity())
    EpgSyncJobService.requestImmediateSync(
            getActivity(),
            inputId,
            ComponentName(getActivity(), SampleJobService::class.java)
    )
    

Java

    String inputId = getActivity().getIntent().getStringExtra(TvInputInfo.EXTRA_INPUT_ID);
    EpgSyncJobService.cancelAllSyncRequests(getActivity());
    EpgSyncJobService.requestImmediateSync(getActivity(), inputId,
            new ComponentName(getActivity(), SampleJobService.class));
    

使用 requestImmediateSync() 方法同步作业服务。用户必须等待同步完成,因此您应该保持相对较短的请求期。

使用 setUpPeriodicSync() 方法让作业服务在后台定期同步频道和节目数据:

Kotlin

    EpgSyncJobService.setUpPeriodicSync(
            context,
            inputId,
            ComponentName(context, SampleJobService::class.java)
    )
    

Java

    EpgSyncJobService.setUpPeriodicSync(context, inputId,
            new ComponentName(context, SampleJobService.class));
    

TIF 随播内容库提供 requestImmediateSync() 的额外过载方法,让您能够指定要同步的频道数据的持续时间(以毫秒为单位)。默认方法会同步一小时的频道数据。

TIF 随播内容库还提供 setUpPeriodicSync() 的额外过载方法,让您能够指定要同步的频道数据的持续时间,以及应发生定期同步的频率。默认方法每隔 12 小时同步 48 小时的频道数据。

如需详细了解频道数据和电子节目单,请参阅使用频道数据

处理微调请求和媒体播放

当用户选择特定频道时,系统 TV 应用使用您的应用创建的 Session,微调到请求的频道并播放内容。TIF 随播内容库提供多个类,您可以扩展这些类来处理频道和系统中的会话调用。

您的 BaseTvInputService 子类创建的会话可处理微调请求。替换 onCreateSession() 方法,创建从 BaseTvInputService.Session 类扩展的会话,并使用新会话调用 super.sessionCreated()。在下例中,onCreateSession() 返回 RichTvInputSessionImpl 对象,该对象扩展 BaseTvInputService.Session

Kotlin

    override fun onCreateSession(inputId: String): Session =
            RichTvInputSessionImpl(this, inputId).apply {
                setOverlayViewEnabled(true)
            }
    

Java

    @Override
    public final Session onCreateSession(String inputId) {
        RichTvInputSessionImpl session = new RichTvInputSessionImpl(this, inputId);
        session.setOverlayViewEnabled(true);
        return session;
    }
    

当用户使用系统 TV 应用开始观看其中一个频道时,系统会调用您会话的 onPlayChannel() 方法。如果您在节目开始播放之前需要进行任何特殊的频道初始化,请替换此方法。

然后,系统获取当前安排的节目并调用您的会话的 onPlayProgram() 方法,指定节目信息和开始时间(以毫秒为单位)。使用 TvPlayer 接口开始播放节目。

您的媒体播放器代码应实现 TvPlayer 以处理特定播放事件。TvPlayer 类处理时移控制等功能,而不会增加 BaseTvInputService 实现的复杂性。

在您的会话的 getTvPlayer() 方法中,返回实现 TvPlayer 的媒体播放器。TV 输入服务示例应用实现使用 ExoPlayer 的媒体播放器。

使用 TV 输入框架创建 TV 输入服务

如果您的 TV 输入服务无法使用 TIF 随播内容库,则需要实现以下组件:

您还需要执行以下操作:

  1. 在清单中声明您的 TV 输入服务,如在清单中声明您的 TV 输入服务中所述。
  2. 创建服务元数据文件。
  3. 创建并注册您的频道和节目信息。
  4. 创建您的设置 Activity。

定义您的 TV 输入服务

对于您的服务,您可以扩展 TvInputService 类。TvInputService 实现是一个绑定服务,其中系统服务是与其绑定的客户端。您需要实现的服务生命周期方法如图 1 所示。

onCreate() 方法初始化并启动 HandlerThread,其提供与界面线程分开的进程线程以处理系统驱动的操作。在下例中,onCreate() 方法初始化 CaptioningManager 并准备处理 ACTION_BLOCKED_RATINGS_CHANGEDACTION_PARENTAL_CONTROLS_ENABLED_CHANGED 操作。这些操作描述了当用户更改家长控制设置时,以及当已屏蔽分级列表上发生更改时触发的系统 intent。

Kotlin

    override fun onCreate() {
        super.onCreate()
        handlerThread = HandlerThread(javaClass.simpleName).apply {
            start()
        }
        dbHandler = Handler(handlerThread.looper)
        handler = Handler()
        captioningManager = getSystemService(Context.CAPTIONING_SERVICE) as CaptioningManager

        setTheme(android.R.style.Theme_Holo_Light_NoActionBar)

        sessions = mutableListOf<BaseTvInputSessionImpl>()
        val intentFilter = IntentFilter().apply {
            addAction(TvInputManager.ACTION_BLOCKED_RATINGS_CHANGED)
            addAction(TvInputManager.ACTION_PARENTAL_CONTROLS_ENABLED_CHANGED)
        }
        registerReceiver(broadcastReceiver, intentFilter)
    }
    

Java

    @Override
    public void onCreate() {
        super.onCreate();
        handlerThread = new HandlerThread(getClass()
          .getSimpleName());
        handlerThread.start();
        dbHandler = new Handler(handlerThread.getLooper());
        handler = new Handler();
        captioningManager = (CaptioningManager)
          getSystemService(Context.CAPTIONING_SERVICE);

        setTheme(android.R.style.Theme_Holo_Light_NoActionBar);

        sessions = new ArrayList<BaseTvInputSessionImpl>();
        IntentFilter intentFilter = new IntentFilter();
        intentFilter.addAction(TvInputManager
          .ACTION_BLOCKED_RATINGS_CHANGED);
        intentFilter.addAction(TvInputManager
          .ACTION_PARENTAL_CONTROLS_ENABLED_CHANGED);
        registerReceiver(broadcastReceiver, intentFilter);
    }
    

图 1TvInputService 生命周期。

请参阅控制内容,详细了解如何使用已屏蔽内容并提供家长控制。请参阅 TvInputManager,了解更多您可能想在 TV 输入服务中处理的系统驱动的操作。

TvInputService 创建 TvInputService.Session,后者实现 Handler.Callback 以处理播放器状态更改。借助 onSetSurface()TvInputService.Session 使用视频内容设置 Surface。请参阅使用 surface 集成播放器,详细了解如何使用 Surface 呈现视频。

TvInputService.Session 在用户选择频道时处理 onTune() 事件,并将内容和内容元数据的更改通知给系统 TV 应用。这些 notify() 方法在本培训中的控制内容处理跟踪选择中做了进一步的说明。

定义您的设置 Activity

系统 TV 应用使用您为 TV 输入定义的设置 Activity。设置 Activity 是必需的,并且必须为系统数据库至少提供一个频道记录。系统 TV 应用在无法为 TV 输入找到频道时调用设置 Activity。

设置 Activity 向系统 TV 应用描述通过 TV 输入提供的频道,如下一课创建并更新频道数据中所示。

其他参考资料

Skip to content

Most visited

Recently visited

navigation

Developing a TV Input Service

A TV input service represents a media stream source, and lets you present your media content in a linear, broadcast TV fashion as channels and programs. With a TV input service, you can provide parental controls, program guide information, and content ratings. The TV input service works with the Android system TV app. This app ultimately controls and presents channel content on the TV. The system TV app is developed specifically for the device and immutable by third-party apps. For more information about the TV Input Framework (TIF) architecture and its components, see TV Input Framework.

Create a TV Input Service Using the TIF Companion Library

The TIF Companion Library is a framework that provides extensible implementations of common TV input service features. Use the TIF Companion Library to quickly and easily create your own TV input service that follows best practices for Android TV.

Update your project

To get started using the TIF Companion Library, add the following to your app’s build.gradle file:

compile 'com.google.android.libraries.tv:companionlibrary:0.1'

The TIF Companion Library is not currently part of the Android framework. It is distributed as a Gradle dependency through JCenter, and not with the Android SDK.

Declare your TV input service in the manifest

Your app must provide a TvInputService-compatible service that the system uses to access your app. The TIF Companion Library provides the BaseTvInputService class, which provides a default implementation of TvInputService that you can customize. Create a subclass of BaseTvInputService, and declare the subclass in your manifest as a service.

Within the manifest declaration, specify the BIND_TV_INPUT permission to allow the service to connect the TV input to the system. A system service performs the binding and has the BIND_TV_INPUT permission. The system TV app sends requests to TV input services via the TvInputManager interface.

In your service declaration, include an intent filter that specifies TvInputService as the action to perform with the intent. Also declare the service metadata as a separate XML resource. The service declaration, intent filter, and service metadata declaration are shown in the following example:

<service android:name=".rich.RichTvInputService"
    android:label="@string/rich_input_label"
    android:permission="android.permission.BIND_TV_INPUT">
    <!-- Required filter used by the system to launch our account service. -->
    <intent-filter>
        <action android:name="android.media.tv.TvInputService" />
    </intent-filter>
    <!-- An XML file which describes this input. This provides pointers to
    the RichTvInputSetupActivity to the system/TV app. -->
    <meta-data
        android:name="android.media.tv.input"
        android:resource="@xml/richtvinputservice" />
</service>

Define the service metadata in a separate XML file. The service metadata XML file must include a setup interface that describes the TV input's initial configuration and channel scan. The metadata file should also contain a flag stating whether or not users are able to record content. For more information on how to support recording content in your app, see TV Recording.

The service metadata file is located in the XML resources directory for your app and must match the name of the resource you declared in the manifest. Using the manifest entries from the previous example, you would create the XML file at res/xml/richtvinputservice.xml, with the following contents:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<tv-input xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android"
  android:canRecord="true"
  android:setupActivity="com.example.android.sampletvinput.rich.RichTvInputSetupActivity" />

Define channels and create your setup activity

Your TV input service must define at least one channel that users access via the system TV app. You should register your channels in the system database, and provide a setup activity that the system invokes when it cannot find a channel for your app.

First, enable your app to read from and write to the system Electronic Programming Guide (EPG), whose data includes channels and programs available to the user. To enable your app to perform these actions, and sync with the EPG after device restart, add the following elements to your app manifest:

<uses-permission android:name="com.android.providers.tv.permission.READ_EPG_DATA" />
<uses-permission android:name="com.android.providers.tv.permission.WRITE_EPG_DATA" />
<uses-permission android:name="android.permission.RECEIVE_BOOT_COMPLETED "/>

Add the following element to ensure that your app shows up in the Google Play Store as an app that provides content channels in Android TV:

<uses-feature
    android:name="android.software.live_tv"
    android:required="true" />

Next, create a class which extends the EpgSyncJobService class. This abstract class makes it easy to create a job service that creates and updates channels in the system database.

In your subclass, create and return your full list of channels in getChannels(). If your channels come from an XMLTV file, use the XmlTvParser class. Otherwise generate channels programmatically using the Channel.Builder class.

For each channel, the system calls getProgramsForChannel() when it needs a list of programs that can be viewed within a given time window on the channel. Return a list of Program objects for the channel. Use the XmlTvParser class to obtain programs from an XMLTV file, or generate them programmatically using the Program.Builder class.

For each Program object, use an InternalProviderData object to set program information such as the program's video type. If you only have a limited number of programs that you want the channel to repeat in a loop, use the InternalProviderData.setRepeatable() method with a value of true when setting information about your program.

After you've implemented the job service, add it to your app manifest:

<service
    android:name=".sync.SampleJobService"
    android:permission="android.permission.BIND_JOB_SERVICE"
    android:exported="true" />

Finally, create a setup activity. Your setup activity should provide a way to sync channel and program data. One way to do this is for the user to do it via the UI in the activity. You might also have the app do it automatically when the activity starts. When the setup activity needs to sync channel and program info, the app should start the job service:

String inputId = getActivity().getIntent().getStringExtra(TvInputInfo.EXTRA_INPUT_ID);
EpgSyncJobService.cancelAllSyncRequests(getActivity());
EpgSyncJobService.requestImmediateSync(getActivity(), inputId,
        new ComponentName(getActivity(), SampleJobService.class));

Use the requestImmediateSync() method to sync the job service. The user must wait for the sync to finish, so you should keep your request period relatively short.

Use the setUpPeriodicSync() method to have the job service periodically sync channel and program data in the background:

EpgSyncJobService.setUpPeriodicSync(context, inputId,
        new ComponentName(context, SampleJobService.class));

The TIF Companion Library provides an additional overloaded method of requestImmediateSync() that lets you specify the duration of channel data to sync in milliseconds. The default method syncs one hour's worth of channel data.

The TIF Companion Library also provides an additional overloaded method of setUpPeriodicSync() that lets you specify the duration of channel data to sync, and how often the periodic sync should occur. The default method syncs 48 hours of channel data every 12 hours.

For more details about channel data and the EPG, see Working with Channel Data.

Handle tuning requests and media playback

When a user selects a specific channel, the system TV app uses a Session, created by your app, to tune to the requested channel and play content. The TIF Companion Library provides several classes you can extend to handle channel and session calls from the system.

Your BaseTvInputService subclass creates sessions which handle tuning requests. Override the onCreateSession() method, create a session extended from the BaseTvInputService.Session class, and call super.sessionCreated() with your new session. In the following example, onCreateSession() returns a RichTvInputSessionImpl object that extends BaseTvInputService.Session:

@Override
public final Session onCreateSession(String inputId) {
    RichTvInputSessionImpl session = new RichTvInputSessionImpl(this, inputId);
    session.setOverlayViewEnabled(true);
    return super.sessionCreated(session);
}

When the user uses the system TV app to start viewing one of your channels, the system calls your session's onPlayChannel() method. Override this method if you need to do any special channel initialization before the program starts playing.

The system then obtains the currently scheduled program and calls your session's onPlayProgram() method, specifying the program information and start time in milliseconds. Use the TvPlayer interface to start playing the program.

Your media player code should implement TvPlayer to handle specific playback events. The TvPlayer class handles features like time-shifting controls without adding complexity to your BaseTvInputService implementation.

In your session's getTvPlayer() method, return your media player that implements TvPlayer. The TV Input Service sample app implements a media player that uses ExoPlayer.

Create a TV Input Service Using the TV Input Framework

If your TV input service can't use the TIF Companion Library, you need to implement the following components:

You also need to do the following:

  1. Declare your TV input service in the manifest, as described in Declare your TV input service in the manifest.
  2. Create the service metadata file.
  3. Create and register your channel and program information.
  4. Create your setup activity.

Define your TV input service

Figure 1.TvInputService lifecycle.

For your service, you extend the TvInputService class. A TvInputService implementation is a bound service where the system service is the client that binds to it. The service life cycle methods you need to implement are illustrated in figure 1.

The onCreate() method initializes and starts the HandlerThread which provides a process thread separate from the UI thread to handle system-driven actions. In the following example, the onCreate() method initializes the CaptioningManager and prepares to handle the ACTION_BLOCKED_RATINGS_CHANGED and ACTION_PARENTAL_CONTROLS_ENABLED_CHANGED actions. These actions describe system intents fired when the user changes the parental control settings, and when there is a change on the list of blocked ratings.

@Override
public void onCreate() {
    super.onCreate();
    mHandlerThread = new HandlerThread(getClass()
      .getSimpleName());
    mHandlerThread.start();
    mDbHandler = new Handler(mHandlerThread.getLooper());
    mHandler = new Handler();
    mCaptioningManager = (CaptioningManager)
      getSystemService(Context.CAPTIONING_SERVICE);

    setTheme(android.R.style.Theme_Holo_Light_NoActionBar);

    mSessions = new ArrayList<BaseTvInputSessionImpl>();
    IntentFilter intentFilter = new IntentFilter();
    intentFilter.addAction(TvInputManager
      .ACTION_BLOCKED_RATINGS_CHANGED);
    intentFilter.addAction(TvInputManager
      .ACTION_PARENTAL_CONTROLS_ENABLED_CHANGED);
    registerReceiver(mBroadcastReceiver, intentFilter);
}

See Control Content for more information about working with blocked content and providing parental control. See TvInputManager for more system-driven actions that you may want to handle in your TV input service.

The TvInputService creates a TvInputService.Session that implements Handler.Callback to handle player state changes. With onSetSurface(), the TvInputService.Session sets the Surface with the video content. See Integrate Player with Surface for more information about working with Surface to render video.

The TvInputService.Session handles the onTune() event when the user selects a channel, and notifies the system TV app for changes in the content and content metadata. These notify() methods are described in Control Content and Handle Track Selection further in this training.

Define your setup activity

The system TV app works with the setup activity you define for your TV input. The setup activity is required and must provide at least one channel record for the system database. The system TV app invokes the setup activity when it cannot find a channel for the TV input.

The setup activity describes to the system TV app the channels made available through the TV input, as demonstrated in the next lesson, Creating and Updating Channel Data.

This site uses cookies to store your preferences for site-specific language and display options.

Get the latest Android developer news and tips that will help you find success on Google Play.

* Required Fields

Hooray!

Follow Google Developers on WeChat

Browse this site in ?

You requested a page in , but your language preference for this site is .

Would you like to change your language preference and browse this site in ? If you want to change your language preference later, use the language menu at the bottom of each page.

This class requires API level or higher

This doc is hidden because your selected API level for the documentation is . You can change the documentation API level with the selector above the left navigation.

For more information about specifying the API level your app requires, read Supporting Different Platform Versions.

Take a short survey?
Help us improve the Android developer experience.
(Sep 2017 survey)