The Android Developer Challenge is back! Submit your idea before December 2.

优化表盘

Wear OS 表盘会持续不断地运行,所以必须高效地使用电能。

另外,表盘的性能也应当优化。服务不得执行不必要的计算。带有动画的表盘在适应通知和系统指示器的同时必须顺畅地运行。

基本优化

此部分包含提升效率的最佳做法。

表盘的颜色和亮度

深色背景可以节省手表的电量。以下是有关如何设置表盘背景以优化表盘电池使用情况的建议:

  • 颜色。尽可能使用黑色背景。
  • 亮度。如果表盘要求不允许使用黑色背景,您应该力求使背景颜色的亮度在 HSV(色相、饱和度、明度)或 HSB 刻度上不超过 25%。例如,如果您使用 Color 类设置背景颜色,并通过 HSV 刻度定义颜色,则应该将“明度”(即亮度设置)设为 25 或更小的数字。

在 WatchFaceService.Engine 中使用回调

确保表盘仅在处于活动状态时执行计算;请在 WatchFaceService.Engine 中使用回调。最好使用该类的下列方法来确定表盘是否可见:

  • onVisibilityChanged(boolean)
  • isVisible()

或者,使用该类 (WatchFaceService.Engine) 的以下方法:

  • onCreate()
  • onDestroy()

使用通过 DataClient 接口注册的监听器

要监听事件,请使用通过 DataClient.addListener 注册的实时监听器。要查看示例,请参阅同步数据项

请勿使用 WearableListenerService 监听事件,因为无论表盘是否处于活动状态都会调用它。如需了解详情,请参阅弃用 BIND_LISTENER

请勿在 Android 清单文件中注册广播接收器来获取系统事件(如时区变化、电池事件,等等),因为无论表盘是否处于活动状态都会调用 BroadcastReceiver。不过,您可以使用 Context 类的 registerReceiver 方法来注册接收器。

借助动态功能与手机进行交互

当表盘需要在手机上运行某项操作时,只能在表盘处于活动状态时执行相应代码。建议利用 CapabilityClient API 使手机上的应用确定对应的表盘是否处于活动状态。

定义一项在 WatchFaceService.EngineonCreate() 方法中动态添加的功能。您可以通过 onDestroy() 方法移除该功能。

例如,如果某个应用获取要在表盘上显示的周期性数据,那么它应该针对表盘所广播的功能注册监听器。您可以添加提醒,用来获取更新后的数据并将其推送到表盘(当手表在覆盖范围内时)。如果表盘不再处于选中状态、不在覆盖范围内、已关闭或无法接收更新,则移除周期性提醒。

监控耗电量

Wear OS 配套应用让开发者和用户能够查看穿戴式设备上不同进程消耗的电量(在设置 > 手表电池下)。

Android 5.0 中引入了一些有助于延长电池续航时间的功能,如需了解与这些功能相关的信息,请参阅 Volta 项目

注册加密感知表盘

Android 7.0 及更高版本支持文件级加密,并允许加密感知应用在用户(在启动时)提供解密密码之前运行。这可以将从启动动画到表盘的过渡时间缩短多达 30 秒。

要使启动速度更快,请将 android:directBootAware="true" 添加到表盘清单中。

注意:请将此功能与不使用凭据加密存储的表盘结合使用。

动画的最佳做法

本部分介绍的最佳做法有助于减少动画的耗电量。

降低动画的帧速率

动画的计算开销通常很大,且十分耗电。大多数动画在帧速率为每秒 30 帧时看起来已经比较流畅,所以您应避免以更高的帧速率运行动画。如果 draw() 方法的末尾使用了 invalidate(),您可以在调用 invalidate() 方法之前添加延迟以控制帧速率。如需了解如何实现此步骤,请参阅绘制表盘

使 CPU 在各动画之间休眠

动画和对表盘内容的细微更改都会唤醒 CPU。表盘应使 CPU 在各动画之间休眠。例如,您可以在交互模式下使用每秒短时动画,然后使 CPU 休眠到下一秒。使 CPU 经常休眠,即使时间很短,也可以大大减少耗电量。

要最大限度地延长电池续航时间,请谨慎使用动画。即使是闪烁的冒号,每次闪烁都会唤醒 CPU,并影响电池续航时间。

缩减位图资源的大小

许多表盘都包含背景图片及其他图形资源,这些资源会在背景图片上转换和重叠,例如时钟指针和其他设计元素会随着时间的流逝而移动。如绘制表盘中所述,在系统每次重新绘制表盘时,这些图形元素通常会在 Engine.onDraw() 方法内旋转(有时会缩放)。

这些图形资源越大,转换它们所需的计算开销就越大。在 Engine.onDraw() 方法中转换较大的图形资源会大幅降低系统运行动画的帧速率。

图 1. 可以剪裁时钟指针来移除多余像素。

要提升表盘的性能,请执行以下操作:

  • 请不要使用大于实际需求的图形元素。
  • 移除边缘多余的透明像素。

图 1 左侧的示例时钟指针大小可以缩小 97%。

缩减位图资源的大小(如本部分所述)不仅能够提升动画的性能,而且还可以节省电量。

组合位图资源

如果您的某些位图经常一起绘制,不妨考虑将它们组合到同一个图形资源中。您通常可以在交互模式下将背景图片与刻度线组合到一起,以避免系统每次重新绘制表盘时都绘制两个全屏位图。

绘制缩放后的位图时停用抗锯齿

当您使用 Canvas.drawBitmap() 方法在 Canvas 对象上绘制缩放后的位图时,您可以提供 Paint 实例来配置多个选项。要提升性能,请使用 setAntiAlias() 方法停用抗锯齿,因为此选项对位图没有任何影响。

图 2. 停用(左侧)和启用(右侧)位图过滤的示例。

使用位图过滤

对于在其他元素上绘制的位图资源,请使用 setFilterBitmap() 方法在相同的 Paint 实例上启用位图过滤。图 2 显示了应用和未应用位图过滤的时钟指针的放大视图。

注意:在低位微光模式下,系统无法可靠地渲染图片中的颜色,使得位图过滤无法成功地处理位图。当微光模式处于活动状态时,请停用位图过滤。

将开销大的操作移出绘制方法

系统每次重新绘制表盘时都会调用 Engine.onDraw() 方法,所以此方法中应只包含更新表盘所必需的操作,从而提升性能。

如有可能,请避免在 Engine.onDraw() 方法中执行以下操作:

  • 加载图片和其他资源。
  • 调整图像大小。
  • 分配对象。
  • 执行其结果在各个帧之间不会改变的计算任务。

您通常可以在 Engine.onCreate() 方法中执行上述操作。您可以在 Engine.onSurfaceChanged() 方法中提前调整图片大小,此方法会为您提供画布的大小。

要分析表盘的性能,请使用 CPU 分析器。特别是,请确保 Engine.onDraw() 实现的执行时间很短暂,且在不同的调用过程中保持一致。如需了解详情,请参阅记录和检查方法跟踪记录

Optimize watch faces

A Wear OS watch face runs continuously, so it must use power efficiently.

Optimize the performance of the watch face as much as possible. Services must not perform unnecessary computations. Watch faces with animations must run smoothly while accommodating notifications and system indicators.

Basic optimization

This section contains best practices for improving efficiency.

Color and brightness of a watch face

Dark colors conserve the battery of a watch. The following are recommendations for setting the watch face background, to optimize the watch face's battery use:

  • Color. Whenever possible, use a black background.
  • Brightness. When a watch face's requirements prevent the use of a black background, you should strive to keep the brightness of the background color at or below 25 percent on an HSV (Hue, Saturation, Value) or HSB scale. For example, if you use the Color class to set the background color, and define the color with the HSV scale, you would use 25 or less for the Value setting (that is, for the brightness setting).

Use dynamic capabilities to interact with the phone

When a watch face requires an operation to run on the phone, execute the code only when the watch face is active. The recommended method for letting the app on the phone learn that the corresponding watch face is active is to use the CapabilityClient API.

Monitor power consumption

The Wear OS companion app enables developers and users to see how much battery is consumed by different processes on the wearable device (under Settings > Watch battery).

Register encryption-aware watch faces

Android 7.0 and higher include support for file-based encryption and allows encryption-aware applications to run before the user has provided the decryption passcode at bootup. This can reduce the duration of transitioning from boot animation to the watch face by up to 30 seconds.

To enable faster bootup, add android:directBootAware="true" to the watch face manifest.

Note: Use this feature with watch faces that don't use credential encrypted storage.

Best practices for animations

The best practices in this section help to reduce the power consumption of animations.

Reduce the frame rate of animations

Animations are often computationally expensive and consume a significant amount of power. Most animations look fluid at 30 frames per second, so you should avoid running your animations at a higher frame rate. Instead you can use dynamic frame rates. For more information see the Example Canvas Watch Face.

Let the CPU sleep between animations

Animations and small changes to the contents of the watch face wake up the CPU. Your watch face should let the CPU sleep in between animations. For example, you can use short bursts of animation every second in interactive mode and then let the CPU sleep until the next second. Letting the CPU sleep often, even briefly, can significantly reduce power consumption.

To maximize battery life, use animations sparingly. Even a blinking colon wakes up the CPU with every blink and hurts battery life.

Reduce the size of your bitmap assets

Many watch faces consist of a background image and other graphic assets that are transformed and overlapped on top of the background image, such as clock hands and other elements of the design that move over time. The larger these graphic assets are, the more computationally expensive it is to transform them. Typically these graphic elements are rotated (and sometimes scaled) inside the Render.CanvasRenderer.render() method every time the system redraws the watch face, as described in Draw watch faces.

Figure 1. Crop clock hands to remove extra pixels.

To improve the performance of your watch face:

  • Don't use graphic elements that are larger than you need.
  • Remove extra transparent pixels around the edges.

Reduce the size of the example clock hand on the left side of Figure 1 by 97%.

Reducing the size of your bitmap assets as described in this section not only improves the performance of your animations, but it also saves power.

Combine bitmap assets

If you have bitmaps that are often drawn together, consider combining them into the same graphic asset. You can often combine the background image in interactive mode with the tick marks to avoid drawing two full-screen bitmaps every time the system redraws the watch face.

Disable anti-aliasing when drawing scaled bitmaps

When you draw a scaled bitmap on the Canvas object using the Canvas.drawBitmap() method, you can provide a Paint instance to configure several options. To improve performance, disable anti-aliasing using the setAntiAlias() method, since this option doesn't have any effect on bitmaps.

Figure 2. Example of bitmap filtering disabled (left) and enabled (right).

Use bitmap filtering

For bitmap assets that you draw on top of other elements, enable bitmap filtering on the same Paint instance using the setFilterBitmap() method. Figure 2 shows a magnified view of a clock hand with and without bitmap filtering.

Note: In low-bit ambient mode, the system does not reliably render the colors in the image for bitmap filtering to process successfully. When ambient mode is active, disable bitmap filtering.

Move expensive operations outside the drawing method

The system calls the Render.CanvasRenderer.render() method every time it redraws your watch face, so you should only include operations that are strictly required to update the watch face inside this method to improve performance.

When possible, avoid performing these operations inside the Render.CanvasRenderer.render() method:

  • Loading images and other resources.
  • Resizing images.
  • Allocating objects.
  • Performing computations whose result does not change between frames.

To analyze the performance of your watch face, use the CPU Profiler. In particular, ensure that the execution time for your Render.CanvasRenderer.render() implementation is short and consistent across invocations. For more information, see Record and inspect method traces.

The Watch face sample demonstrates the best practices for configuring a watch face.