将界面迁移到响应式布局

Android 应用需要支持不断扩大的设备外形规格生态系统。应用界面应该是响应式的,能够适应各种屏幕尺寸以及不同的屏幕方向和设备状态。

响应式界面的核心在于灵活性和连续性。

灵活性是指布局可以充分利用可用空间,并在可用空间发生变化时进行调整。调整可以采取多种形式:简单地增加单个视图的大小、重新定位视图以使其位于更易于访问的位置、显示或隐藏其他视图,或这些形式的组合。

连续性是指在从一种窗口大小转换为另一种窗口大小时带来无缝的用户体验。无论用户当前置身于何种体验,该体验都应能继续进行而不中断。由于大小的变化可能会伴随着整个视图层次结构的销毁和重新创建,因此务必要确保用户不会丢失其位置或数据。

需要避免的事项

避免根据物理硬件值来确定布局。您可能很想根据固定值来确定布局,但在许多情况下,这些值对于确定界面可使用的空间来说没有用处。

在平板电脑上,应用可能会在多窗口模式下运行,也就是说,该应用会与另一个应用共享屏幕。在 Chrome 操作系统中,应用可能会位于可调整大小的窗口中。甚至可能会有多个物理屏幕,例如可折叠设备或配备了多个显示屏的设备。在所有这些情况下,物理屏幕的尺寸与决定如何显示内容并不相关。

多个设备,显示了不同大小的应用窗口。
图 1. 窗口大小可能不同于实体设备或显示屏的尺寸。

出于同样的原因,应避免将应用锁定为特定的屏幕方向或宽高比。虽然设备本身可能会采用特定的屏幕方向,但应用可能仅根据其窗口大小而采用不同的屏幕方向。例如,在横屏模式的平板电脑上使用多窗口模式时,应用可能因为其高度大于宽度而处于竖屏模式。

此外,还应避免尝试确定设备属于手机还是平板电脑。确定设备属于平板电脑的具体标准多少有些主观:是必须具备一定的大小还是宽高比,亦或是二者兼备呢?随着新外形规格的出现,这些假设很容易发生改变,因此这种区别就失去了重要性。

在确定布局时,应使用断点和窗口大小类,而非上述做法。

断点和窗口大小类

分配给应用的实际屏幕区域即为应用的窗口。该区域可能会占据整个屏幕或屏幕的一部分,因此在确定应用的大体布局时应使用窗口大小。

针对多种外形规格进行设计时,应找到确定的大体布局在不同方向上分支的阈值。为此,Material Design 准则提供了宽度和高度的断点,可让您将原始大小映射到离散的标准化组,这些组亦称为窗口大小类。由于垂直滚动的普遍存在,大多数应用主要关注宽度大小类,因此大多数应用可以通过仅处理几个断点来针对所有屏幕尺寸进行优化。(如需详细了解窗口大小类,请参阅支持不同的屏幕尺寸。)

永久性界面元素

Material Design 布局准则定义了应用栏、导航和内容的区域。通常,前两个是位于(或非常接近)视图层次结构根部的永久性界面元素。请注意,“永久性”并不一定意味着视图始终可见,而是指视图留在原处,而其他内容视图可能会移动或更改。例如,一个导航元素可能位于当前在屏幕外的滑动抽屉式导航栏中,但抽屉式导航栏始终位于原处。

永久性元素可以是响应式的,通常占据窗口的全宽或全高,因此最好使用大小类别来决定要将它们放置在何处。这样就能划定留给内容的空间。在以下代码段中,对于较小的屏幕,activity 使用底部栏;对于较大的屏幕,activity 使用顶部应用栏。符合条件的布局使用的是如前所述的宽度断点。

<!-- res/layout/main_activity.xml -->

<androidx.constraintlayout.widget.ConstraintLayout
    android:layout_width="match_parent"
    android:layout_height="match_parent">

    <!-- content view(s) -->

    <com.google.android.material.bottomappbar.BottomAppBar
        android:layout_width="wrap_content"
        android:layout_height="0dp"
        app:layout_constraintBottom_toBottomOf="parent"
        app:layout_constraintStart_toStartOf="parent"
        app:layout_constraintTop_toTopOf="parent"
        ... />
</androidx.constraintlayout.widget.ConstraintLayout>

<!-- res/layout-w600dp/main_activity.xml -->
<androidx.constraintlayout.widget.ConstraintLayout
    android:layout_width="match_parent"
    android:layout_height="match_parent">

    <com.google.android.material.appbar.AppBarLayout
        android:layout_width="0dp"
        android:layout_height="wrap_content"
        app:layout_constraintTop_toTopOf="parent"
        app:layout_constraintStart_toStartOf="parent"
        app:layout_constraintEnd_toEndOf="parent"
        ... />

    <!-- content view(s) -->
</androidx.constraintlayout.widget.ConstraintLayout>

内容

定位完永久性界面元素后,使用剩余的空间来显示内容,例如通过将 NavHostFragment 与应用的导航图一起使用来完成此操作。有关其他注意事项,请参阅响应式界面的导航

确保在不同大小下所有数据都可以呈现

如今,大多数应用框架所使用的数据模型,与促成界面的 Android 组件(activity、fragment 和视图)是分开的。对于 Jetpack 来说,此角色通常由 ViewModel 来充当,ViewModel 还有一个好处,那就是在配置更改后保持不变(如需了解详情,请参阅 ViewModel 概览)。

在实现适应不同大小的布局时,您可能很想根据当前大小来使用不同的数据模型。然而,这违背了单向数据流的原则。数据应向下流动到视图,而诸如用户互动之类的事件则应向上流动。如果在另一个方向上创建一种依赖关系,其中数据模型依赖于界面层的配置,则会使情况变得非常复杂。当应用改变大小时,您必须考虑从一个数据模型转换为另一个数据模型。

您应让数据模型容纳最大的大小类,然后便可以选择性地显示、隐藏或重新定位界面中的内容,以适应当前的大小类。如果您要决定在大小类之间转换时布局应表现出怎样的行为,可以采用下面这些策略。

扩展内容

规范布局:Feed、Hero

您可以使用扩展的空间来扩展内容,并重新设置内容的格式,使其更易于访问。

扩大集合。许多应用会在滚动容器(例如 RecyclerViewScrollView)中显示项目的集合。使容器能够自动扩大意味着可以显示更多内容。不过,应格外小心,容器中的内容不要过度拉伸或扭曲。例如,对于 RecyclerView 来说,当宽度不紧凑时,不妨考虑使用不同的布局管理器,如 GridLayoutManagerStaggeredGridLayoutManagerFlexboxLayoutManager

设备折叠和展开状态的对比,显示了不同的布局管理器如何根据宽度大小类以不同的方式来设置应用的布局。
图 2. 根据宽度大小类使用不同的 LayoutManager。

各个项目也可以利用不同的大小或形状来显示更多内容,并更容易地区分项目边界。

强调主打元素。如果布局具有特定的焦点(如图片或视频),请在应用窗口增大时扩展该焦点,以保持用户的注意力。其他辅助元素可以重新排列在主打视图周围或下面。

构造此类布局的方法有很多,但 ConstraintLayout 特别适合此目的,因为它提供了多种方法来约束子视图的大小(包括按百分比约束或强制采用某个宽高比),以及相对于它自身或其他子级来定位其子级。您可以在使用 ConstraintLayout 构建响应式界面中详细了解所有这些功能。

默认情况下显示可收起的内容。当有可用的空间时,应呈现本来只有通过额外的用户互动(如点按、滚动或手势)才能访问的内容。例如,某些内容在空间较小时出现在标签页式界面中,当有更多可用空间时,可以将这些内容重新排列在列或列表中。

扩大外边距。如果空间太大,即使在利用了所有内容之后,您也无法找到吸引人的合适位置,那么请扩大布局的外边距,以使内容保持居中,并且各个视图具有自然的大小和间距。

或者,全屏组件可以转换为悬浮对话框界面。当该组件需要独占焦点来完成即时用户任务(例如写电子邮件或创建日历活动)时,这特别适合。

标准手机和展开的可折叠手机,前者显示了一个全屏对话框,后者将同一对话框显示为悬浮窗口。
图 3. 在中等宽度和展开宽度下,全屏对话框可以转换为标准对话框。

添加内容

规范布局:支持面板、列表详情视图

使用辅助面板。辅助面板可以呈现与主要内容相关的额外内容或关联操作,例如文档中的注释或播放列表中的项目。通常,它们将在展开高度下使用屏幕底部的三分之一,或在展开宽度下使用屏幕尾部的三分之一。

一个重要的考虑因素是,当没有足够的空间来显示面板时要将此内容放置在何处。下面是您可以探索的一些备选方案:

  • 尾部边缘的侧面抽屉式导航栏(使用 DrawerLayout
  • 底部抽屉式导航栏(使用 BottomSheetBehavior
  • 可通过点按菜单图标访问的菜单或弹出式窗口
DrawerLayout、BottomSheetBehavior 和选项菜单的图形表示。
图 4. 在辅助面板中呈现额外内容的备选方式。

创建双窗格布局。大屏幕可能会显示功能的组合,这些功能通常单独出现在较小的屏幕上。许多应用中的常见互动模式是显示项目的列表(如联系人或搜索结果),并在用户选择了某个项目时切换到该项目的详情。应使用列表详情视图在双窗格布局中并排显示这两项功能,而不是针对较大的屏幕放大列表。与辅助面板不同,列表详情视图的详情窗格是一个独立的元素,该元素可以单独显示在较小的屏幕上。

使用 SlidingPaneLayout 专用微件实现列表详情视图。此微件可以根据为两个窗格指定的 layout_width 值自动计算是否有足够的空间来一起显示这两个窗格,任何剩余的空间均可使用 layout_weight 进行分配。如果没有足够的空间,则每个窗格都会使用布局的全宽,详情窗格要么滑出屏幕,要么在列表窗格之上。

在配备宽显示屏的设备上,SlidingPaneLayout 显示了“列表详情”布局的两个窗格。 在配备窄显示屏的设备上,SlidingPaneLayout 显示了在列表窗格之上滑动的详情窗格。
图 5. SlidingPaneLayout 在较大的宽度下显示两个窗格,在较小的宽度下显示一个窗格。

创建双窗格布局包含有关如何使用 SlidingPaneLayout 的更多详情。另请注意,此模式可能会影响您构造导航图的方式。如需了解详情,请参阅响应式界面的导航

Migrate your UI to responsive layouts

Android apps need to support an ever expanding ecosystem of device form factors. An app's UI should be responsive to fit a wide range of screen sizes as well as different orientations and other device states.

Responsive UI centers on the principles of flexibility and continuity.

Flexibility refers to layouts making optimal use of the available space and adjusting when the available space changes. Adjustments can take many forms: simply growing the size of a single view, repositioning views so that they are in more accessible locations, showing or hiding additional views, or a combination of these.

Continuity refers to having a seamless user experience while transitioning from one window size to another. Whatever experience the user is currently engaged in should continue without interruption. Because a change in size could be accompanied by destruction and recreation of the entire view hierarchy, it is important that the user not lose their place or their data.

Things to avoid

Avoid using physical, hardware values for making layout decisions. It might be tempting to make decisions based on a fixed value, but in many situations these values aren't useful for determining the space your UI can work with.

On tablets, an app might be running in multi-window mode, which means the app shares the screen with another app. On Chrome OS, an app might be in a resizable window. There can even be more than one physical screen, such as with a foldable device or a device that has multiple displays. In all of these cases, the physical screen size isn't relevant for deciding how to display content.

Multiple devices showing app windows of different sizes.
Figure 1. Window sizes can differ from the physical device or display size.

For the same reason, avoid locking your app to a specific orientation or aspect ratio. While the device itself may be in a particular orientation, your app may be in a different orientation based solely on the size of its window. For instance, on a tablet in landscape while using multi-window mode, an app can be in portrait because it is taller than it is wide.

Also, avoid trying to determine whether the device is a phone or tablet. What specifically qualifies as a tablet is somewhat subjective: is it based on having a certain size, or aspect ratio, or combination of size and aspect ratio? As new form factors emerge, these assumptions can easily change, and this distinction loses importance.

Instead of doing any of the above, use breakpoints and window size classes.

Breakpoints and window size classes

The actual portion of the screen that is allocated to your app is the app's window. It may occupy the full screen or part of the screen, so use the window size when making high-level decisions about your app's layout.

When designing for multiple form factors, find threshold values where these high-level decisions branch in different directions. To this end, Material Design guidelines provide breakpoints for width and height, which allows you to map raw sizes into discrete, standardized groups referred to as window size classes. Due to the ubiquity of vertical scrolling, most apps primarily care about the width size classes, so most apps can be optimized for all screen sizes by handling just a few breakpoints. (For more information on window size classes see Support different screen sizes.)

Persistent UI elements

The Material Design layout guidelines define regions for app bars, navigation, and content. Typically, the first two are persistent UI elements at (or very near) the root of the view hierarchy. Note that "persistent" doesn't necessarily mean the view is always visible, but rather that it stays in place while other content views might move or change. For instance, a navigation element could be in a sliding drawer that is currently off screen, but the drawer is always there.

Persistent elements can be responsive, and usually they take up either the full width or the full height of the window, so prefer using size classes to decide where to place them. This will delineate the space that is left for content. In the following snippet, the activity uses a bottom bar for compact screens and a top app bar for larger screens. The qualified layouts use width breakpoints as described earlier.

<!-- res/layout/main_activity.xml -->

<androidx.constraintlayout.widget.ConstraintLayout
    android:layout_width="match_parent"
    android:layout_height="match_parent">

    <!-- content view(s) -->

    <com.google.android.material.bottomappbar.BottomAppBar
        android:layout_width="wrap_content"
        android:layout_height="0dp"
        app:layout_constraintBottom_toBottomOf="parent"
        app:layout_constraintStart_toStartOf="parent"
        app:layout_constraintTop_toTopOf="parent"
        ... />
</androidx.constraintlayout.widget.ConstraintLayout>


<!-- res/layout-w600dp/main_activity.xml -->
<androidx.constraintlayout.widget.ConstraintLayout
    android:layout_width="match_parent"
    android:layout_height="match_parent">

    <com.google.android.material.appbar.AppBarLayout
        android:layout_width="0dp"
        android:layout_height="wrap_content"
        app:layout_constraintTop_toTopOf="parent"
        app:layout_constraintStart_toStartOf="parent"
        app:layout_constraintEnd_toEndOf="parent"
        ... />

    <!-- content view(s) -->
</androidx.constraintlayout.widget.ConstraintLayout>

Content

Once you've positioned your persistent UI elements, use the remaining space for content, such as by using a NavHostFragment with your app's navigation graph. See Navigation for responsive UIs for additional considerations.

Ensure all data is available for different sizes

Most app frameworks today make use of a data model that is separated from the Android components that contribute to the UI (Activities, Fragments, and Views). With Jetpack, this role is usually fulfilled by ViewModels, which have the added benefit of surviving across configuration changes (see ViewModel Overview for more information).

When implementing a layout that adapts to different sizes, it might be tempting to use a different data model based on the current size. However, this goes against the principle of unidirectional data flow. Data should flow downward to Views, and events like user interactions should flow upwards. Creating a dependency in the other direction, where the data model depends on the configuration of the UI layer, dramatically complicates this. When the app changes size, you must then account for converting from one data model to another.

Instead, let your data model accommodate the largest size class, and then you can selectively show, hide, or reposition content in the UI to adapt to the current size class. Below are a few strategies you can use when deciding how your layout should behave when transitioning between size classes.

Expand content

Canonical layouts: Feed, Hero

Expanded space can be an opportunity to simply make things bigger and reformat your content so that it's more accessible.

Make collections larger. Many apps show a collection of items in a scrolling container, such as a RecyclerView or ScrollView. Enabling a container to become larger automatically means more content can be shown. However, be careful that the content within the container does not become overly stretched or distorted. For example, with a RecyclerView, consider using a different layout manager like GridLayoutManager, StaggeredGridLayoutManager, or FlexboxLayoutManager when the width is not compact.

A device folded and unfolded showing how different layout managers
            lay out the app differently based on width size class.
Figure 2. Using different LayoutManager based on width size class.

Individual items can also utilize a different size or shape to display more content and more easily distinguish item boundaries.

Emphasize a hero element. If the layout has a particular focal point, like an image or video, expand it when the app window grows to maintain the user's attention. Other supporting elements can be rearranged around or below the hero view.

There are many ways to construct such a layout, but ConstraintLayout is particularly suited for this purpose because it provides many ways to constrain a child view's size—including by percentage, or enforcing an aspect ratio—and to position its children relative to itself or to other children. Learn more about all these capabilities in Build a Responsive UI with ConstraintLayout.

Show collapsible content by default. When there is room available, expose content that would otherwise only be accessible through additional user interaction like tapping, scrolling, or gestures. For example, content that appears in a tabbed interface when compact could instead be rearranged into columns or a list when more space is available.

Expand margins. If the space is so large that you cannot find an appealing fit even after utilizing all of your content, then expand the margins of the layout so that the content remains centered and the individual views have natural sizes and spacing between them.

Alternatively, a full screen component can transform into a floating dialog UI. This is particularly well suited when that component requires exclusive focus to fulfill an immediate user task, such as composing an email or creating a calendar event.

Standard phone showing a dialog full screen, and an unfolded
            foldable phone showing the same dialog as a floating window.
Figure 3. Full screen dialog can transform into a standard dialog at medium and expanded width.

Add content

Canonical layouts: Supporting panel, List detail view

Use a supporting panel. A supporting panel presents additional content or contextual actions related to the primary content, such as comments in a document or items in a playlist. Typically these will use the bottom third of the screen for expanded height or the trailing third for expanded width.

An important consideration is where to place this content when there is not enough space to show the panel. Here are a few alternatives to explore:

  • Side drawer on the trailing edge using DrawerLayout
  • Bottom drawer using BottomSheetBehavior
  • Menu or popup window accessible by tapping on a menu icon
Graphical representations of a DrawerLayout, BottomSheetBehavior,
            and options menu.
Figure 4. Alternative ways of presenting additional content in a supporting panel.

Create a two-pane layout. Large screens might show a combination of features that normally appear separately on smaller screens. A common interaction pattern in many apps is to show a list of items, like contacts or search results, and switch to an item's detail when the item is selected. Rather than enlarge the list for larger screens, use the list detail view to show both features side by side in a two-pane layout. Unlike a supporting panel, the detail pane of a list detail view is a standalone element that can be shown independently on smaller screens.

Use the SlidingPaneLayout dedicated widget for implementing a list detail view. This widget automatically calculates whether there is enough room to display both panes together based on the layout_width value specified for the two panes, and any leftover space can be distributed using layout_weight. When there is not enough room, then each pane uses the full width of the layout, and the detail pane either slides off screen or on top of the list pane.

SlidingPaneLayout showing both panes of a list-detail layout
            on a device with a wide display. SlidingPaneLayout showing the detail pane sliding on top of the
            list pane on a device with a narrow display.
Figure 5. SlidingPaneLayout showing two panes in expanded width and one pane in compact width.

Create a two-pane layout contains more details about using SlidingPaneLayout. Also note that this pattern may impact how you structure your navigation graph. You can read more about this in Navigation for responsive UIs.